Evil Credit Cards

ARROGANCE:  A strong feeling of proud self-importance that is expressed by treating other people with contempt or disregard* 

         I can’t tell you how shocked I was to discover that I would actually have to pay my credit card companies back. The way my sick mind saw it back then was that their money was my money. The money they lent me didn’t seem real. I was entitled to a lot of credit. I had things to do with that money. Important things like um…oh  things I can’t remember now. I was actually mad at them when they billed me for repayment! They were the enemy. I was special. I was different. The rules didn’t apply to me.

         In my life I’ve noticed that arrogance leads to debting. Can arrogance be one of the causes of your debts?

Action: Do you have a debt that you feel you are “too good” to pay back? Maybe you really dislike the person or company you owe money to. Using free flow writing, explore all of the places in your life where your feelings of self importance may have led you to debt.

Prayer: Lord, please help me to remember that being a child of the King doesn’t mean that I can treat other people or institutions rudely because of my whims and wishes.

 *Encarta® World English Dictionary © 1999 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Developed for Microsoft by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc 
Leave a comment

Filed under credit cards

Leave a Reply

