Reading The Directions

     My husband does something that I used to find highly odd and unusual. Whenever we brought home a purchase, he actually read the instruction manuals that came in the box.  My scenario with any new purchase used to go something like this:

  1. Buy something I needed right away and couldn’t wait to own, on credit.
  2. Bring it home and curse while I tried to open the box. How dare they try to keep my hastily purchased item from being damaged! Did they actually value the item?
  3. Throw all those “stupid papers” away.
  4. Curse some more.
  5. Put new item in back of my closet because it didn’t work; or try to return it without the proper receipts.
  6. Repeat steps 1-6.

     Imagine my surprise when my husband read the instructions and things would work beautifully.

     Imagine my surprise when I read that any late payments on my credit card would cause my interest rate to jump to 22%!

     Imagine my surprise when I finally read the directions for my life in the bible.

ACTION: Gather any and all documents related to your debt. If you have unopened envelopes, pray to the Lord for the courage and the strength to open them. 

READ THEM!(Especially the fine print)

PRAYER: Lord, thank you for making the directions for my life in ‘bold print’. I don’t have to read the fine print to receive your love. It turns out that what I see in you is what I get. You don’t try to trick me into following you and for that I am grateful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Funny Money Stories

Leave a Reply

